Student Award Announcement

 2017 Student Award Winners Selected!

Congratulations to our winners! 

2017 Student Award Winners

Graduate Student Awardee

Amanda Rose Amori, University of Rochester
Advisor: Dr. Todd D. Krauss 

Undergraduate Student Awardee

Carmen Kloer, Vassar College

Rachel A. Yang, Rutgers University 

Undergraduate and Graduate Student Awards in Applied Spectroscopy

Society for Applied Spectroscopy, New York Section



One graduate and up to five undergraduate awards will be presented. Each candidate should be an undergraduate in at least their junior year or a graduate student majoring in science or engineering.  The graduate awardee will receive a $250 cash award, a plaque, a one year membership to the SAS, plus an invitation to the student awards dinner.  The New York Section Graduate Student Awardee will also be nominated by the NYSAS section for the National SAS Student Award.  Each undergraduate awardee will receive a $100 cash award, a one year membership to the SAS, plus an invitation to the student awards dinner.


Applications must include the following items:

a.) A letter of nomination from the student’s research advisor or from an authorized representative of an industrial sponsor of the student’s research.  (Students are not permitted to self-nominate.)

b.) Letters of recommendation from two additional faculty members or other scientists who are familiar with the quality of the student's work.

c.) Transcripts that document all university credits (unofficial transcripts are OK).

d.) A one-page summary of the research project written by the student including reference to any of the student's published work, demonstrating applicability of the research to the field of applied spectroscopy.

e.) Telephone numbers, addresses and e-mail addresses of both the student & research advisor.


Electronic submission is preferred.  Please use the subject line “NYSAS Award: Lastname” (where ‘Lastname’ should be replaced by the surname of the student nominee; for example “NYSAS Award:  Carroll”).



Please submit nominations to:

Viktor Dubovy
Chair Student Awards Committee

Ph: 732-878-7295 (work)